Spread the love

National track cyclist Mohd Azizulhasni Awang won the Athlete of the Year at the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM) –100PLUS Awards 2019.

The win for Azizulhasni is his third success Athlete of the Year Award after winning it in 2009 and 2017.

“I would like to thank the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM) for choosing me as the winner this year. Of course, I will make this award as a source of motivation for my preparations for next year’s Olympic Games.

It is going to be very challenging, but I will not give up as I aspire to deliver and realised the dream of the first gold medal for Malaysia,” said Azizulhasni through a video recording from Melbourne, Australia.

Azizul’s best achievement in 2019 was he took the title at the World Series track championship in Cambridge last December, beating former world champions Shane Perkins and Matthew Glaetzer.

In fact, the 32-year-old who is known as ‘The Pocket Rocketman’ also took the gold medal after winning the individual sprint event at the 2019 Asian Track Championship held in South Korea in October 2019.

Spread the love

Write A Comment